MAC Randomization: How to restore Helix Fi app functionality

Because of the MAC Randomization feature, you may need to reassign your device to your profile to restore Helix features.

We are making sure that the current Helix Fi app functionality continues to function after new security updates to your devices. As a result, there is a small chance that a duplicate version of your device could appear in the app.

If you have a duplicate device, you’ll want to remove the original device and keep the duplicate device – making sure that the duplicate is named the way you want, and if desired, assigned to a user profile.

Check in your profile, or in the list of disconnected devices under Devices in the Connect tab to see if there are any disconnected devices that should be connected. If you find one, look for a duplicate of this device under Devices, in the Connect tab.

First, find the original, inactive device. If it’s assigned to a profile, go to People in the Helix Fi app and select the original, disconnected device listed under your profile. Otherwise, find the device in the Devices list on the Connect tab. Select Device Details and select Forget Device at the bottom of the screen.

To assign the active device to a profile:

  1. Select your preferred profile and tap Assign Device.
  2. Select the duplicate device from the list of connected devices and select Assign. Using unique names to avoid confusion.
  3. Once the device is assigned to your profile, all your previous features and settings should return to normal.

If this happens, you should reconnect your device to your in-home WiFi network.

Once you have reconnected your device to your home network, you can assign it to a user profile. Once the device is assigned to a profile, all of that profile’s features and settings (scheduled downtime, profile pause, etc.) will apply to the device.

We are making sure that the current Helix Fi app functionality continues to function after new security updates to your devices. As a result, there is a small chance that a duplicate version of your device could appear in the app.

If you have a duplicate device, you’ll want to remove the original device and keep the duplicate device – making sure that the duplicate is named the way you want, and if desired, and assigned to a user profile, so that all of your profile features work again.

 
On an iPhone, the feature is called Private Address and is enabled by default if your device operates with iOS 14 or a newer system.

To manage this feature:

  1. Under Settings, select Wi-Fi.
  2. Tap the i icon next to the Wi-Fi network you’re using.
  3. Enable or disable the Private Address option.
 
On an Android device, the feature is called MAC Address Type and is enabled by default if your device operates with Android 10 or a newer system.

Here’s how to manage this feature: Note that the procedure may differ slightly from one phone model to another.

  1. Access Wi-Fi settings:
    • Samsung: In Settings, select Connections, then Wi-Fi.
    • Google: In Settings, select Network and Internet, then Internet.
  2. Tap the gear icon settings next to the Wi-Fi network used.
  3. Disable the MAC address type feature:
    • Samsung: Select View more, then MAC address type and Phone MAC.
    • Google: Select Privacy and then Use device MAC address.

Was this article helpful?

forum communaute

Ask the Community

Any specific questions? Ask it on our forum and see how experts or other users have solved a similar problem.

Contact us

Enjoy fast, real-time service, from your computer or mobile device.

Find a store

Come see us in one of our 121 stores and enjoy a unique customer experience.