Learn how to use our partner and extended mobile networks (Videotron-Ext) to stay connected across Canada.
What is the “Videotron-Ext” network?
The “Videotron-Ext” network includes the partner networks and the extended network.
Are there any limits when I use a network elsewhere in Canada?
When you’re connected to the Videotron network or to a partner network, only your Mobile plan limits apply.
When you’re connected to the extended network, which is considered additional coverage, the following limit applies: If your usage on the extended coverage network for voice, data, and text message services exceeds 50% of your total usage for three consecutive billing cycles, a text message notification will be sent to you, and your access to partner networks will be blocked during the next billing cycle.
How do I know whether I’m connected to the extended network, and how do I know if I’m approaching my usage limit?
To find out whether you’re in an extended coverage zone:
Click the Subscription zones radio button located below the map, on the left.
The zone in which you can subscribe is displayed in yellow.
Are there any fees associated with using a partner or extended network?
No. Although technically your device is roaming as soon as it connects to a partner or extended network, there are no roaming charges if your Mobile plan includes Canada.
Québec plans only: All our current plans include mobile services across Canada. Are you still on a plan that covers Québec only? In this case, roaming charges apply as soon as you leave the province. Shop our Canada plans.
I’m roaming within Canada, and I have no network. What can I do?
The “Videotron-Ext” network includes partner and extended networks. If you’re in a partner network zone, there is no usage limit. If you’re in an extended network zone, restrictions apply.
No. Your device automatically connects to the best available network in the following order of priority:
Videotron
Videotron-Ext
Partner network
Extended network
If the extended network is the only network available, your device will automatically connect to it, and you can use it unless you have exceeded the usage limits.